17 July World International Criminal Justice Day

World Day for International Justice also referred to as Day of International Criminal
Justice or International Justice Day is an international day celebrated throughout the
world on July 17 as part of an effort to recognize the emerging system of international
criminal justice. July 17 was chosen because it is the anniversary of the adoption of the
Rome Statute, the treaty that created the International Criminal Court. On 1 June 2010, at
the Review Conference of the Rome Statute held in Kampala (Uganda), the Assembly of State
Parties decided to celebrate 17 July as the Day of International Criminal Justice.

International Criminal Justice Day 17 July

Every year people around the world use this day to host events to promote international
criminal justice, especially support for the International Criminal Court. The day has been
successful enough to attract international news attention, and for groups to use the day to
focus attention on particular issues such as genocide in Darfur, Falun Dafa, and serious
crimes of violence against women.

supreme court Powers to punish for contempt

Under Articles 129 and 142 of the Constitution the Supreme Court has been vested with power
to punish anyone for contempt of any court in India including itself. The Supreme Court
performed an unprecedented action when it directed a sitting Minister of the state of
Maharashtra, Swaroop Singh Naik, to be jailed for 1-month on a charge of contempt of court
on 12 May 2006. This was the first time that a serving Minister was ever jailed.

About Supreme Court of India

The Supreme Court of India is the highest judicial forum and final court of appeal under
the Constitution of India, the highest constitutional court, with the power of
constitutional review. Consisting of the Chief Justice of India and 30 other judges, it has
extensive powers in the form of original, appellate and advisory jurisdictions.

Chief Justice of India

Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar is the current Chief Justice of India, after Justice T. S.
Thakur retired on 3 January 2017.

chief justice of supreme court

Since the birth of the Republic of India on 26 January 1950, 43 people have served as the
Chief Justice of India (CJI).While H. J. Kania is the inaugural CJI, the current incumbent
is Jagdish Singh Khehar who was appointed as Chief Justice of India on 4 January 2017.
Justice Y. V. Chandrachud is the longest serving Chief Justice (February 1978 – July 1985)

list of sitting judges of the Supreme Court of India

No. Name Gender Date of appointment Date of retirement State/Union Territory
1 Hon’ble chief Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar (The hon’ble chief Justice of India) Male 2011-09-13
2017-08-27 Punjab
2 Hon’ble Justice Dipak Misra Male 2011-10-10 2018-10-02 Odisha
3 Hon’ble Justice Jasti Chelameswar Male 2011-10-10 2018-06-22 Andhra Pradesh
4 Hon’ble Justice Ranjan Gogoi Male 2012-04-23 2019-11-17 Assam
5 Hon’ble Justice Madan Lokur Male 2012-06-04 2018-12-30 Delhi
6 Hon’ble Justice Kurian Joseph Male 2013-03-08 2018-11-29 Kerala
7 Hon’ble Justice Arjan Kumar Sikri Male 2013-04-12 2019-03-06 Delhi
8 Hon’ble Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde Male 2013-04-12 2021-04-23 Maharashtra
9 Hon’ble Justice Rajesh Kumar Agrawal Male 2014-02-17 2018-05-04 Uttar Pradesh
10 Hon’ble Justice N. V. Ramana Male 2014-02-17 2022-08-26 Andhra Pradesh
11 Hon’ble Justice Arun Kumar Mishra Male 2014-07-07 2020-09-02 Madhya Pradesh
12 Hon’ble Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel Male 2014-07-07 2018-07-06 Punjab
13 Hon’ble Justice Rohinton Fali Nariman Male 2014-07-07 2021-08-12 Maharashtra
14 Hon’ble Justice Abhay Manohar Sapre Male 2014-08-13 2019-08-27 Madhya Pradesh
15 Hon’ble Justice R. Banumathi Female 2014-08-13 2020-07-19 Tamil Nadu
16 Hon’ble Justice Prafulla Chandra Pant Male 2014-08-13 2017-08-29 Uttarakhand
17 Hon’ble Justice Uday Umesh Lalit Male 2014-08-13 2022-11-08 Maharashtra
18 Hon’ble Justice Amitava Roy Male 2015-02-27 2018-03-01 Assam
19 Hon’ble Justice Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar Male 2016-05-13 2022-07-29 Maharashtra
20 Hon’ble Justice Dhananjaya Y. Chandrachud Male 2016-05-13 2024-11-10 Maharashtra
21 Hon’ble Justice Ashok Bhushan Male 2016-05-13 2021-07-04 Uttar Pradesh
22 Hon’ble Justice L. Nageswara Rao Male 2016-05-13 2022-06-07 Andhra Pradesh
23 Hon’ble Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul Male 2017-02-17 2023-12-25 Jammu and Kashmir
24 Hon’ble Justice Mohan M. Shantanagoudar Male 2017-02-17 2023-05-04 Karnataka
25 Hon’ble Justice S. Abdul Nazeer Male 2017-02-17 2023-01-04 Karnataka
26 Hon’ble Justice Navin Sinha Male 2017-02-17 2021-08-18 Bihar
27 Hon’ble Justice Deepak Gupta Male 2017-02-17 2020-05-06 Himachal Pradesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.